SA School Sports



Last updateTue, 04 Dec 2018 12pm

   Join our newsletter here:      


Back You are here: Home Sports Rugby Gauteng Rugby: Hoërskool Monument Their History and Team of 2013
Monday, 01 April 2013 15:15

Rugby: Hoërskool Monument Their History and Team of 2013

When the school opened in 1921 ML Brink held a meeting of boys to find out what games they wanted to play. They all opted for soccer, as was the custom on the bare fields of the Highveld at the time, upon which Brink promptly decided that they would all play rugby!

  The school played its first match on 1 April 1921 and drew 3-3 with Krugersdorp High School. Since then, the school has had many great sides – as in 1924, 1953, 1979, 1980, 1984, 1993 (when the team scored 143 tries in 28 matches) and 2004. Monument first won the Administrator’s Cup in 1953.

 It won again in 2005, 2009 and then again in 2010. In 2003 they were Media24 National Schools’ Champions. These are all huge achievements given the number and quality of the  competing schools.

 In 2003 Monnas won the Media 24 Trophy – an attempt to get the top schools in South Africa to compete against each other which did not take off. In 2005 they beat Waterkloof in the final to win the Beeld Trophy. That year they scored 145 tries in 24 matches, roughly six tries a match.

 All Monnas teams (except the Seconds) play in white jerseys, and so they are the “Wit Bulle”. The Second XV has a special jersey and are called the “Kwaggas”.

 As one would expect from a school which achieves so much, Monnas has the largest representation of any school north of the Vaal River at Craven Week and in SA Schools. Seven Old Boys have played for South Africa, and the biggest recent achievement was when three of them – Willem Alberts, Jaco Taute and Heinke van der Merwe – played against Ireland on the end-of-year tour in 2012.


Hoërskool Monument Team2013

1. F van Wyk

2. CJ Conradie

3. G Janse van Vuuren

4. R Herbst

5. J Mocke

6. D Pienaar

7. D Vlok

8. W Jacobs

9. J Esterhuizen (captain)

10. R Conradie

11. W Cloete

12. G van der Walt

13. R de Clerck

14. A Grobler

15. A Reynolds

16. J Hennings

17. CJ Greeff

18. N Swartz

19. G Delport

20. S Fitzgerald

21. E Fourie

22. D Rabie

Coaches: H Coetzee

J van Staden

Team Doctor: J de Beer

Related items