SA School Sports



Last updateTue, 04 Dec 2018 12pm

   Join our newsletter here:      


Back You are here: Home Sports MTB W-Cape MTB: Paul Roos Hold on to Top Spot
Thursday, 26 July 2012 14:00

MTB: Paul Roos Hold on to Top Spot


A strong field of 170 riders took to the new mountain bike track on the banks of the Berg River in Paarl for the second Western Cape Spur School Mountain Bike League event this weekend.

 mtbRiders applauded Meurant Botha of Amarider for a track, which was accessible to beginners, but at the same time allowed for fierce racing amongst more advanced riders who had to give it their all on the flatter route to maintain top positions.

Paul Roos Gimnasium is still leading the log with 418 points, followed by Montana High School in Worcester with 363 and Parel Vallei High School in third with 290 points.

Although the Spur School Mountain Bike league is only open to mountain-bikers between the ages of 13 and 18, primary schools were also included with the Nipper (9-10) and Sprogs (11-12) categories aimed at providing a fun, introduction to the sport.  Leon de Vos of Kenridge Primary took first position in the Nipper Boys and Alexandra During of Paarl Girls Primary won the Nipper Girls.  Calla de Vos of Kenridge Primary finished first in the Sprog Boys with Carla Hollander also of Kenridge taking line honours in the Sprog Girls.

The Sub-Junior Boys (13-14) category was won by Matthew Keyser of Parel Vallei High School, followed by Andrew Sparks of Reddam House second and team mate Dylan Karras in third.   Petra Lategan of Worcester North Primary took line honours in the Sub Junior Girls with Lerato Mnqikela of Vissershok Primary in second.  Ivan Venter of Parel Vallei won the Youth Men’s Category (15-16) in a time of 00.37.49 followed by Harrie Malan of Paul Roos Gimnasium second in a time of 00.38.11 and Nicol Carstens of Montana High School third in a time of 00.38.26.  Kasandra van den Heever of Montana High School finished first in the Youth Women with team mate, Marze Jacobs second and Claudia le Roux of Luckhoff in third. 

One of the most exciting races of the day was undoubtedly the Junior Men Category (17-18) which was won by Dylan Hattingh of Parel Vallei High School in a time of 00.43.20 followed by Paul Rodenbach in a close second in a time of 00.43.50 and Jannes Buijs of Paul Roos Gimnasium third in a time of 00.45.06.

Marie-Christin Kempf of Parel Vallei High had a comfortable win in the Junior Women Category and finished in a time of 00.37.23 with Carina de Kock of Montana High School second in a time of 00.44.38 and Corrie Keyser of Hermanus High School third in a time of 00.47.30.

The next league event will be hosted at Delvera Farm on Saturday, 4 August.  For more information and an update on the national calendar visit  or contact Amarider on 021 8844547.                                                                                             

Related items