Print this page
Thursday, 06 September 2012 14:56

MTB: Paul Roos Finish Top in Western Cape

Paul Roos Gymnasium who won the 2011 National Finals of the Spur School Mountain Bike league, finished top of the Western Cape log with a total of 1084 points after the Western Cape Regional Finals hosted at the school this weekend.

aaA total of 60 schools and more than 310 riders competed in the Western Cape leg of the Spur School Mountain Bike League and a stellar performance all season by the team from Kayamandi High School secure them the number four spot on the log.  According to league co-ordinator, Meurant Botha of Amarider he is particularly pleased with the steady growth shown by the development riders.  “Looking at the top riders from Kayamandi High School, it is clear that their dedication and hard work has paid off and that they have become serious contenders,” says Botha.

Montana and Parel Vallei High Schools finished second and third respectively with 777 and 626 points. Montana High School in Worcester has also been a steady player throughout the season as they have a strong mixed team – who was just pipped to the podium at the 2011 finals when they finished fourth with 96 points one point behind third place mixed team winners, Sutherland High with 97 points.  All eyes will be on the team this Saturday as they take on local rivals Parel Vallei.

The route for the weekend's race was more challenging than previous events, with more climbing per lap as well as several single track sections added by Paul Roos MTB team members and old boys who spent many afternoons and weekends getting the route ready for the race. The lap is 3,8km long and took the fastest riders around 12 minutes to complete.

The Nipper Boys was won by Matthew Lochner of Rhenish Primary with Luke Moir of SACS second and Leon De Vos of Kenridge Primary in third.  Kenridge Primary did really well winning the Nipper Girls U-10 (Sarah Van Der Walt) and taking all three podium positions in the Sprog Boys 11 – 12 with Calla De Vos first, Daniel Van Der Walt seond and Joshua Laughton in third.  The Sprog Girls category was won by Natash Doko of Kayamandi Primary with Emma Bekker of Stellenbosch Primary second and Ashline Isaacs of Beverley Park Primary in third.

Sub Junior Boys 13-14 years was won by Matthew Keyser of Parel Vallei with Redam House team mates Andrew Sparks and Dylan Karas respectively second and third. Sub Junior Girls 13-14 was won by Worcester Noord Primary followed by Jeanni Viljoen from Montana High also in Worcester second and Yanela Doko of St Idas Primary in third.

Seconds literary separated the top three contenders in the Youth Men 15-16 category with Ivan Venter of Parel Vallei finishing four laps in a time of 00.42.10 followed by Nicol Carstens of Montana second in a time of 00.42.19 and Sybrand Strauss of Stellenberg high in third in a time of 00.42.20

Marne Botha of Paarl Gimnasium had a comfortable win in the Youth Women 15-16 with a time of 00.28.02 followed by Kasandra Van Den Heever of Montana second in a time of 00.35.06 and Marze Jacobs also from Montana third in a time of 00.37.06

The Junior Men 17-18 provided exciting racing action with the top two riders sprinting to finish for the win and Jannes Buijs of Paul Roos just pipping team mate Dean Morgan to the line with their times respectively 00.54.28 and 00.54.29.  Luyanda Tobigunya of Kayamandi High finished third in a time of 00.55.49

The last race of the day was the Junior Women 17-18 category and was won by Michaele Van Den Heever of La Rochelle Girls High in a time of 00.43.47 with Rosemarie De Vink of Rhenish second in a time of 00.45.58 and Carina De Kock of Montana in third in a time of 00.57.37

Related items