SA School Sports



Last updateTue, 04 Dec 2018 12pm

   Join our newsletter here:      


Back You are here: Home Schools Gauteng Menlopark Hoërskool Gauteng MTB: Excitement Mounts for Spur League Finals
Thursday, 20 September 2012 11:49

MTB: Excitement Mounts for Spur League Finals

Excitement is mounting as top mountainbike riders countrywide are getting ready for the 2012 Spur School Mountainbike League Finals to be hosted at Bekker Schools in Magaliesburg for the second year running this weekend.

DanROn Saturday, 22 September the best riders from the top three schools in each region will battle it out for podium positions in an effort to secure points for their team and hopefully win the coveted Spur School Mountainbike League National title. 

The Gauteng-based schools that secured their positions in the finals on invitation are Waterkloof, Centurion, Transvalia, Helpmekaar, Menlopark, Noordheuwel, Randpark and Diepsloot.  Teams heading up North from the Western Cape include Parel Vallei, Montana, Paul Roos Gymnasium and team Songo who started as development riders from Kayamandi, but have been making steady inroads over the past seasons and includes promising individual riders worth watching.  The Mpumalanga squad will feature Lydenburg, Penryn and Uplands College.  North West is sending Volkskool Potchefstroom, Rustenburg, Klerksdorp, Lichtenburg, Hartebeespoort and host Bekker Schools.  KZN, Namibia and Zimbabwe will be represented by a mixed team made up out of the top riders from the region, while Louis Trichardt will represent Limpopo and the formidable Grey College will fly the Free State flag.

The action-packed 2012 Spur School Mountainbike Finals will be hosted over two days and according to league co-ordinator, Meurant Botha of Amarider, the revised scoring system implemented last year separating boys, girls and mixed teams had a positive impact on the inter-schools competition as it put all schools on an equal footing.  

“We’re expecting fierce competition on Saturday when defending mixed team champions Waterkloof will give it their all to retain their title with their big nemesis of the past Anatomic Spur Series, Centurion chasing them and strong competition expected from both Montana and Parel Vallei from the Western Cape as well as Lydenburg from Mpumalanga,” says Botha. 

The 2011 Spur Mountain Bike League floating trophy for best girls team went to Lydenburg High followed by Waterkloof High School and with both teams finishing top of their respective regional logs, every rider will have to give it their all to secure points for their teams.

Long-time friendly rivals Paul Roos Gymnasium, who walked off with the number one slot in 2011 Boys division and Grey College are both aiming for a win, with Montana and Parel Vallei also strong contenders after an exceptional regional season.

The league, which was launched in 2009, has exceeded our initial projections in terms numbers and reach.  Botha ascribed the amazing growth of the Spur School Mountain Bike League to the ongoing support of a team of dedicated regional organisers and school co-ordinators who successfully hosted more than forty events leading up to the record breaking final.  

“We are really happy with the steady growth of the league in terms of participants, more regional events and new tracks being developed in collaboration with schools and municipalities,” says Botha.

The League has shown tremendous growth with more than 2300 riders taking to the tracks in 2011 compared to only 887 riders in the first year and is successfully expanding the footprint of mountainbiking as a sport.  The 2012 season, however surpassed all expectations with more than 2800 participants.

The weekend will be concluded with an inter-provincial which will see schools team up for their respective provinces on Sunday, 23 September for the inter-provincial floating trophy.  Defending 2011 champs, Mpumalanga will not give up their title easily and spectators can look forward to a tough challenge.



22 September

07H00 Registration Opens (invited riders only)

08H30 Sub Junior Boys

09H20 Youth Boys

10H10 All Girls

11H10 Junior Boys

15H00 Team Relay

18H00 Awards Function/Dinner


23 September Interprovincial

08H30 Sub Junior Boys

08H50 Youth Boys

09H30 All Girls

10H15 Junior Boys

11H30 Prize Giving

Related items