Print this page
Friday, 12 April 2013 15:07

HOCKEY: The History of Grey High School & Team 2013

Grey Hockey was born in 1961, when a team of keen juniors, captained by Colin Hilder and coached by Roy Sutcliffe and Bruce Allen, was entered in the Men’s Leagues under the banner of the Old Grey Club.

 grey high picThe game’s HQ moved to the Pollock Field at the school a few years later and, surely and steadily, hockey began its climb to the position of prominence that it enjoys today as one of Grey’s most popular and most successful sports.

 Brian Hibbert’s reign as coach, not by chance, coincided with Grey’s rise in the national rankings and the selection of Grey’s first Springbok, David Reid-Ross. Thirteen other Old

Greys, including Wayne Graham and Chris Hibbert (both of whom captained the national side), also played for SA, while Brian Hibbert had a spell as national coach and Dan Thysse umpired many a test match both overseas and at home.


Peter Bailey is the most recent SA senior representative and it is noteworthy that four Old Greys represented the SA hockey side at the Beijing Olympics – Chris Hibbert, Clyde Abrahams, Paul Blake and Ian Symons. No less than 53 Grey players have represented SA

Schools’ or SA U18 teams over the years and, regularly, Grey supplies the majority of the Eastern Province teams at national tournaments.

 A state-of-the-art water-based artificial surface was laid and inaugurated in 2006, Grey’s sesquicentennial year, thus bringing to an end the need to travel to practices at far-flung astroturfs in the city and also finishing the school’s involvement with “The House of Pain”, the now-defunct abrasive sand-based turf at Old Grey.


Currently, the school runs 15 teams and, as well as attending important festivals in various age groups, enjoys derby encounters with Grey College, Wynberg BHS, Paul Roos Gymnasium, Selborne College, St Andrew’s College, Queen’s College, Dale College and

York High School, as well as fulfilling a full list of local fixtures. Overseas tours to Europe were undertaken in 1982, 1993, 2000 and 2005, and an interesting trip to Zimbabwe took place in 1996.




1. R Nesbit

2. R Anderson

3. B Fickling

4. D Clarke (captain)

5. J James

6. M Fish

7. O Peter

8. C van Wyk

9. B James

10. J Venter

11. T Mtshixa

12. K Wicht

15. D Schwulst

16. M Moir

Coach: A Hibbert

Manager: G Symons

Related items