SA School Sports



Last updateTue, 04 Dec 2018 12pm

   Join our newsletter here:      


Back You are here: Home Sports Cricket Other Cricket: St Stithians Crowned T20 Champs 2019
Monday, 18 March 2019 07:47

Cricket: St Stithians Crowned T20 Champs 2019

It was always going to be a tussle between St Charles College and St Stithians as to who would be crowned the T20 Champs of 2019.

St Charles who have enjoyed a mighty season with an unbeaten run looked as if they could realistically entertain hopes of getting through to the final match of the Coca-Cola Schools T20 Challenge and go back to KZN as the champions.

With their Zimbabwe U19 Captain, Wesley Madhevere in fine form and enjoying great support from his team, St Charles marched in the finals as they brushed aside Queens College, Paarl Gim , St Andrews College and Waterkloof in their quest.

However St Stithians had already showed that they were fully prepared to take home the title for the 4th time in their history with some clinical results against St Andrews School , Paarl Gim, Hudson Park and Waterkloof. Liam Mostert and Cameron Rowe in particular were brutal with the bat as they consistently notched up half centuries.

However as both Saints faced off in the finals it proved to be one hurdle too much for St Charles who struggled in their run chase after restricting St Stithians to a modest total of 123/7. With Liam McCarthy able to snatch 4/14 and wickets falling regularly St Charles were all out for just 70 runs and St Stithians were crowned the T20 Champs for the fourth time.

The Captain of St Charles, Wesley Madhevere was named Player of the Tournament with Cameron Rowe of St Stithians picking up the award for Best Batsman and Clive Madande of St Charles adjudged as Best Bowler

Related items